Daily Archives: February 4, 2012

Rose Dream and Background Fabric Issues

“Take pride in how far you have come and have faith in how far you can go.”

 

Good day, friends!!! Happy Super Bowl weekend for those of you that are looking forward to the event. I don’t have a team in this so I’m not particularly interested. I’m from the west coast so by birth I’m a San Francisco 49’ers fan & by personal choice I’m Cowboy’s fan for life. That’s because once you pick a team you gotta hang with ’em thru thick & thin – or so I was brought up to believe.

About the 49’ers though. Yesterday I watched a great talk about their coach Mike Singletary. It focused on how one man, one leader can take pretty much the same exact team with pretty much the same exact situation and turn it around. How one man can make a difference and take a losing team and turn them into a winning team – I mean they almost made it to the Super Bowl. This great talk was all about leadership. That kind of story is one of the things I love about sports!

Little Things

 

And nice but onto quilting. You can see my little blocks for Pink Lemonade. I need to get ON IT! I also have up my Rose Dream test blocks. I’m in love with those. These finish at 6″ but there is a 4.5″ size and a 9″ size. They’re pretty!!!

They make for a lovely hand stitch but they’d be no problem on the machine either. It’s a gentle curve as you can see. The little squares on the end are the only set-in seam so that’s no problem there. The one and only bummer is my chosen background fabric. It frays like a dickens. I’m really not sure I can use it. Just putting the blocks up on the Design Wall makes a mess. I really think I’ll have to see what else is in the stash. This background is pretty (click pic) and goes so well with the style of the block but I just don’t think this fabric will work. Its poor fabric. Overall, I like the effect but I don’t know that I have much of this style in the stash. I’ll have to dig. If I went with shirtings we’d be good.

I did pull out a nice cheddar that I’ve been saving but I couldn’t bring myself to use it because I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with this block and I didn’t want to waste (aka: use) my pretty cheddar. You know why don’t you? Well because they’ll never print another pretty cheddar again. Ever. Never. Who has issues?!!!

Actually you know what fabric came to mind when I saw this block? My Kansas Troubles stash. I don’t know why I didn’t give into that. Issues!

We’ll see.  I don’t have time to think too hard on it. I sure do enjoy this Rose Dream block though. Very classic. I thought it was called a Lover’s Knot. Blocks have so many names who can know?

Kipling

I was able to snap this shot of Kippy a couple days ago. He’s such a funny, good boy. I enjoy him at this age. He’s going to be 10 in April. I think. 10 or 11. I think 10. He’s the Alpha Male around here, too.  The dogs totally respect his space. I dig that. He’s a cool dude.

Enjoy your weekend!  Warmly, *karendianne.